School Improvement Team

School Improvement Teams are required by North Carolina law to develop school improvement plans. The team is comprised of the principal of each school, representatives of the assistant principals, instructional personnel, instructional support personnel, and teacher assistants assigned to the school building, and parents of children enrolled in the school. The representatives are elected by their respective groups (such as the PTA/PTO for parents). 

The General Assembly of North Carolina views parental involvement as a critical component of school success and positive student achievement. It is the intent of NC that parents, along with teachers, have a substantial role in developing school improvement plans. [NC General Statutes 115C-105.27]. Buncombe County Schools encourage and endorse shared decision making as evident in our mission statement, Core Values and various policy directives.


Current SIT Members

Chad Upton, Principal
Penny Caldwell, Assistant Principal
Sally Taylor, Chairperson
Rebekah Dodd, Instructional Support
Laura Byers, Teacher
Hope Lukacena, Teacher
Brooke Freeman, Teacher
Lisa McAbee, Teacher
Tonya Geneau, Teacher
Lissa Pedersen, Teacher
Eric Schweitzer, Teacher
Debbie Bohanon, Instructional Assistant
Haley Stamey, Parent

This team was elected in June 2020.
To contact any members of this team, please call us at (828) 683-2341 or by writing to 
Leicester Elementary School
31 Gilbert Road
Leicester, NC 28748